The Izzy Top

After putting the elephant fabric to one side in readiness for Kids Clothes Week next week (read all about that here), I desperately wanted to get sewing and complete something quick and easy to have under Dobbin’s Bobbins’ belt. With this in mind I discovered Climbing the Willow’s Izzy Top and raided my fabric stash to see what I could make it in. The fabrics I chose have been burning a hole in the stash for around 7 years (from my school days no less)!

Izzy Top instagram 1

The first is a simple mint green cotton which is really lightweight and so so pretty that first found it’s way into my possession when I ‘acquired it’ from the school fabric bin (shhhh!). The second is actually a cream and mint toile de jouy fat quarter that I couldn’t resist purchasing on a trip to the NEC at either the Knitting and Stitching Show or the Festival of Quilts. (Anyone else find that they all just become a bit of a blur after time?) Anyway, I quickly printed off the pattern, traced off the 18 months size, and cut out all the pieces. Choosing a contrast yoke for this pattern works brilliantly if you’re like me and have loads of random fat quarters lying around and you never quite know what to do with them. Sitting and sewing on such a sunny day in mine and Mr DB’s south facing flat in Bournemouth with the iron on was a little torturous, but I wouldn’t have it any other way! The instructions from Teri at Climbing the Willow were really clear and simple and ensured the unpicker never saw the light of day and that the top came together really easily.

IMG_8687

All in all I managed to put the Izzy top together in one afternoon and was the perfect project to get me back into the swing of things after a bit of a break! I can definitely see more Izzy tops in Dobbin’s Bobbins’ future being made up in lots of beautiful fabrics. In fact… yesterday I couldn’t help but treat myself to a really pretty fat quarter bundle during my trip to Hobbycraft. Actually they’re so pretty I reckon they deserve a post all of their own, so stay tuned!

5 thoughts on “The Izzy Top

Leave a comment