Secret Project Revealed!

It’s official, I am a costume student once again and the uni project I’ve been dreaming up for the past eight months or so has finally begun. And I’m very excited about it!

Did anyone recognise the quote/clue I gave in my New Years post? Well I can now reveal that it was a line from the song ‘Be Optimistic’ from the film Little Miss Broadway(1938)ย performed by the one and only, Shirley Temple.

Those of you who follow me on Instagram will know that I absolutely love the clothes the famous child star wore throughout the height of her career in the 1930s. So what is this dream project of mine? It is, as I’m sure you’ve guessed by now, to recreate a collection of garments once worn by “America’s Little Darling” herself. Inspiring children’s fashion around the world, Shirley’s wardrobe was truly remarkable.

Exactly which designs I’ll be replicating is still being debated and I’m open to suggestions.ย Do you have a favourite that you’d like to see me make?

(All images sourced from Pinterest)

 

2 thoughts on “Secret Project Revealed!

  1. ooobop! says:

    What an absolutely brilliant and gorgeous plan. I have such fond memories of snuggling up on the sofa to watch those movies with my mum. Marvelling at her dimples, her dances and of course her dresses were always so gorgeous. Can’t wait to see what you make. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Victoria As it Seams says:

    Oh this is all gorgeous! My sewing imagination is now skipping along vintage creation heaven… Love the black dress with the contrast pleats, but also the coats, and the little white collared dress too. Looking forward to seeing your creations. May even sew-along..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

