Happy New Year!

Too often it’s easy to focus on everything you didn’t achieve rather than everything that you did. I’m sure when I look back in 10 years time 2015 will have been an incredibly important year. I bravely took a step away from uni to take the time to work out my own aspirations and dreams, rather than continuing along the treadmill in sync with everyone around me. In creating Dobbin’s Bobbins, I took the first steps to achieving those dreams, and put positive goals in place.

2016 won’t all be plain sailing. There will be highs and lows. But I’m going into it with belief, hope and courage. With a fresh and new found energy, I’ll continue to focus on goals that inspire and excite my creative mind, leaving any baggage to one side. So what can you expect from Dobbin’s Bobbins in 2016?

First things first, I’m heading back to uni (to my Costume degree) and I have an amazing project up my sleeve. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time and I hope you will all love it too. I’ll be blogging as I go as well as sharingย some tips and tricks I learn along the way. I don’t want to give away too much just yet, but here’s a little clue (and something I’ll live by as I do it!)…

Screen Shot 2015-12-09 at 15.30.52

Even though uni will be keeping me incredibly busy, I’m going to make a real effort to find the time to sew for pleasure too. Although I’m sure new pattern releases will be too enticing to resist, here’s a few that I can’t wait to sew during 2016.

Obviously Straight-Grain’s Tinny dress had to be on my list! I love the story behind the design (it was based on a story-book character’s dress) so of course I bought the pattern when it was re-released and I’ve been desperate to give it a go since. Another pattern that I’d love to sew is the Norah dress by Mouse House Creations. It’s been on my radar ever since it popped up on my Pinterest feed years ago. It’s a beautiful vintage-inspired design which I’ve just never quite got round to. Finally, I wanted to mention the Cocoon dress by Heidi&Finn. Although a completely different shape and style than I would ordinarily choose, I fell in love with it as soon as I spotted the incredible results of it’s pattern testing on Instagram.

On a different note, I had such an incredible time at this year’s Sew Brum which took place at the end of October in Birmingham. As it was my first meet-up I was obviously very nervous before going, but I’m so glad I did! It was amazing to meet so many other sewers, as well as putting faces to blog names and accents to profile pictures! I love being part of such a welcoming and friendly community, and I know that I will definitely be attending more sewing meet ups in 2016!

IMG_0620

Finally, 2016 will be the year (if all goes to plan!) that Dobbin’s Bobbins will release it’s first ever sewing pattern. Eek! I’m incredibly excited for this next chapter in the Dobbin’s Bobbins journey and I hope you will be too! So stay tuned!

What sewing plans have you got for the new year? Or have you got any sewing resolutions instead? I’d love to hear from you! Anyway, Happy Sewing and a Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

