Flower Girl Dress!

As I mentioned previously in my Throwback Thursday: Flower Girls! post, I spent August designing and creating a dress for the wedding of my good friends, Tiff and Dan, to be worn by their little flower girl, C. I was so honoured to be asked, and it was a lovely way to feel part of their special day.

I spent time with Tiff looking at examples of dresses on Pinterest (see my inspiration board here), and was able to gauge an understanding of the styles that she liked. I also wanted to make the dress subtly personal, incorporating vintage design details reflecting the costume course on which Tiff and I met, as well as mirroring Tiff’s wedding dress.

Mood Board

Mood Board

In order to find the perfect fabrics and trims I scoured the length of the country (almost!), searching all the way from Shipley in West Yorkshire down to sunny Bournemouth on the south coast. You wouldn’t believe how difficult it is to source good quality ivory chiffon for a reasonable price! In the end, I bought ivory silk satin from The Fancy Silk Store in Birmingham, ivory cotton lawn from Fabric Land Bournemouth, ivory chiffon from Jo-An’s in Southbourne and a selection of gold ribbon from Hobbycraft.

IMG_9108

Hemline Detail

IMG_9110

Back Neckline Detail

Front and Back of Dress.

Front and Back of Dress.

Thanks to Tilly & the Buttons’ fabulous blogpost detailing how to cut out slippery fabrics, I had no problems cutting out my drafted pattern pieces. It’s definitely worth a read for a few tips and tricks!

Photo Credit: Mary Grinham

Photo Credit: Mary Grinham

Photo Credit: Stephen Bunn

Photo Credit: Stephen Bunn Photography

Photo Credit: Stephen Bunn

Photo Credit: Stephen Bunn Photography

Back of Tiff and C's dresses*

Words cannot describe the pride I felt as I watched C walk down the aisle with a beaming smile. Everything I had wanted to achieve in the design and execution had paid off. Tiff & Dan were over the moon with it and C felt and looked like a princess. Furthermore, the dress was in perfect keeping with the bride and bridesmaids’ dresses as well as the day overall. I couldn’t have wished for better! The wedding was absolutely beautiful, and I’m delighted to be able to say I helped create a little part of it. Congratulations Mr and Mrs Forbes!

One thought on “Flower Girl Dress!

Leave a Reply

