Foxes!

Foxes are everywhere at the moment aren’t they?

There is a real trend happening currently throughout fabric design and the online sewing community. Who could forget Kids Clothes Week’s plethora of fox cubs? And whilst I am certainly not a ‘jumping on the bandwagon’ kind of girl when it comes to sewing, I do have my reasons for wanting this particular trend to continue long into the future.

Here are my picks from Spoonflower. I think I would honestly buy all my fabrics from there if I could afford it- the inspirational prints are never ending!

Spoonflower Fabrics

Spoonflower Fabrics

Honestly, there were so many others I could have picked as well, but these stood out for me. They’re just great aren’t they? Clockwise they are: Sleepy Mountain’s Coral Fox, Emily Sanford’s Tribal Fox in Grey, Jgreenwalt’s Fall is for Foxes, Sugarcookie’s Riding Hood,  Emily Sanford’s Tribal Fox in Pink & Kimsa’s Sleepy Fox on Coral Background.

And just think, with those fabrics you could make skirts for little girls just like these from Marcelines Wonderland and Little Poms.

Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 10.36.52

Patch pockets will never fail to spruce up a garment and make it instantly cute. And what a great way of using up the scraps of fabrics you have left over from bigger projects?

If you don’t want to splash out on fox printed fabric, sewers can alternatively follow the trend with fox dresses. Check out these gorgeous examples from Wild Things Dresses and Brittney at Sewing for Four.

Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 10.46.41

They’re just so clever! And I can’t imagine there’s a little girl out there who wouldn’t love a fox dress (apparently Brittney’s twins are both claiming it as their own)!

And the trend doesn’t end with sewers. Knitters are getting involved too!

Screen Shot 2015-05-09 at 10.49.57

Although I don’t have much confidence with knitting, I’d definitely have a go at these (from Ravelry and Sincerely Louise) in the future. I think that the swearing and headaches that they’d cause me would genuinely be worth it!

And even though all of these incredible pieces are reason enough to love this trend, the most important reason for me is quite simple. I grew up in Leicestershire, and am a huge fan of Leicester City Football Club aka. The Foxes. So let me introduce you to my favourite fox of all…

photo

It’s Filbert with two little fox cubs from the early noughties. Okay, I’ll be honest, those little fox cubs just so happen to be me and my little brother back in the day.

Leicester have very much been the underdogs of the Premiership this season, but the team has never given up hope and continue to fight to avoid relegation. I’m no footballer but  I’ll certainly continue to be inspired by their fighting spirit and despite any personal setbacks I’ll continue to sew and follow my creative dreams. Keep The Faith!

2 thoughts on “Foxes!

Leave a Reply

