Princess Charlotte Crown

On Saturday morning I awoke to the breaking news, along with the rest of the world, that the Duchess of Cambridge had gone into labour. Shortly after, it was announced that Kate had given birth to a baby girl- England officially has a new Princess! Meet Princess Charlotte…

Photograph: BBC News

Photograph: BBC News

After a childhood of dressing up and playing Princesses on a daily basis, I couldn’t help but consider this momentous event from the perspective of 3 year old me… And how better to commemorate the glorious occasion than to make a pretty little crown fit for a princess? Far more fitting than buying a mug don’t you think?

photo

The crown was really simple to make. I drew up the pattern and stitched it all together on Saturday afternoon in a couple of hours- such a satisfying little sew. I used some leftover Shabby Chic cotton from Doughty’s that I had in my stash, as well as a bit of white calico, broderie anglaise trim, poppers and heavy-weight vilene that I had lying around. I love the way the the cut-outs in the anglaise create the effect of gems in a crown. And with these there’s no concern of choking hazards! Plus I love how it’s pretty and girly without the need to be pink. This sew might not be the most complicated, the most intricate etc etc, but I’m so glad I made it. Perhaps due to my Costume background, I love learning about pieces’ history- the story behind them. And this crown has a story that can be passed down through generations. It will be my way of connecting to a moment in history. Welcome to the world, Princess Charlotte!

2 thoughts on “Princess Charlotte Crown

Leave a Reply

