Teapots & Spots: 1 A-line dress later…

After all that talk of A-Line dresses in my last post (here), I couldn’t help but dash to my local fabric shop in Christchurch, The Little Sewing Company, to buy some lining for a fabric that has been burning a hole in my stash for a couple of years in order to quickly whip one up. (Head on over to my Instagram to see what else made it’s way into my basket).

IMG_8716

Having bought this month’s Sew Magazine, I decided to use one of the free patterns,  Girl’s Appliqué Dress, which is from Kirsty Hartley’s Wild Things: Funky Little Clothes to Sew. I have another appliquéd dress idea up my sleeve, so chose to ignore that element of the instructions. Actually I ended up ignoring pretty much all of them as I wanted a full lining and french seams etc etc because the top fabric is so thin. But the pattern pieces themselves gave me a place to start!

My aim is to create a mini series made from this fabric using different styles for different ages, so with that in mind I traced off the smallest size (6-12 months). I’m thinking of using an Oliver + S pattern for my next piece- possibly the fairytale dress?

IMG_8705

So here it is! I didn’t want to embellish the dress, or add unnecessary trims or what not. The fabric itself has a really lovely subtle texture that I wanted to do all the talking. However I couldn’t help but add a couple of silver teapot buttons to the shoulders. I think they just finish off the dress perfectly!

If you think this pinafore is as sweet as I do, then pretty please ‘like’ the post or leave a comment below- I’d love to hear your thoughts!

5 thoughts on “Teapots & Spots: 1 A-line dress later…

  1. Michele says:

    the little buttons just add that special finishing touch,looking forward to your next project,good luck with your new blog.

    Like

    • Dobbin's Bobbins says:

      Isn’t it sweet? And of course! It’s from The Fancy Silk Store in Birmingham. I’ve checked the selvedge to see if I can find out more, but unfortunately it doesn’t give anything away. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

